كيف تقرأ تقرير COVID-19 الخاص بك

ما هو COVID-19؟

COVID-19 هو مرض تنفسي تحول إلى جائحة يصيب أكثر من 100 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم. كان سببه أ فيروس يسمى فيروس كورونا المتلازمة التنفسية الحادة الوخيمة 2 (SARS-CoV-2). هذا الفيروس هو جزء من عائلة كبيرة من الفيروسات المعروفة باسم فيروسات كورونا.

تضم عائلة الفيروس التاجي العديد من أنواع الفيروسات المختلفة ، بعضها يسبب المرض للإنسان والبعض الآخر يسبب المرض للحيوان. يرتبط SARS-CoV-2 ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالفيروسات التاجية التي تسبب متلازمة الجهاز التنفسي الحادة الوخيمة (السارس) ومتلازمة الشرق الأوسط التنفسية (ميرس).

كوفيد-19

ما هي أعراض مرض كوفيد -19 وكيف يؤثر على الجسم؟

وفقًا للأدلة المتاحة اليوم ، فإن معظم الأشخاص الذين يصابون بـ COVID-19 سيعانون من أعراض خفيفة مثل السعال والحمى وانخفاض الطاقة وآلام العضلات وفقدان التذوق أو الشم. تشمل الأعراض الأقل شيوعًا التهاب الحلق وسيلان الأنف واحتقان الأنف. لن يعاني العديد من الأشخاص المصابين بفيروس SARS-CoV-2 من أي أعراض على الإطلاق.

يمكن أن تظهر أعراض أكثر شدة مثل صعوبة التنفس لدى المرضى الأكبر سنًا والذين يعانون من حالات طبية موجودة مسبقًا مثل أمراض القلب والأوعية الدموية والسكري وأمراض الرئة والسرطان وأمراض الكلى المزمنة وتاريخ زراعة الأعضاء أو نخاع العظام. الأشخاص الذين يعانون من السمنة أو المدخنين هم أيضًا أكثر عرضة للإصابة بأمراض خطيرة. على الرغم من ندرته ، إلا أن المرض الشديد قد يتطور أيضًا لدى بعض الشباب دون عوامل خطر إضافية.

قد يصاب الأشخاص المصابون بـ COVID-19 بنوع من إصابات الرئة يسمى الالتهاب الرئوي قد يؤدي إلى فشل الجهاز التنفسي. قد يحتاج هؤلاء الأشخاص إلى دخول المستشفى حتى تتحسن حالتهم. يمكن أن يموت الأشخاص المصابون بمرض حاد دون رعاية طبية. لا يحتاج الأشخاص الذين يعانون من أعراض خفيفة إلى أي علاج طبي وسوف يتعافون تمامًا في غضون 7 إلى 14 يومًا.

في الأشخاص الذين يعانون من مرض شديد ، يرتبط COVID-19 أيضًا بزيادة خطر الإصابة بجلطات الدم. عندما تصيب الجلطات الأوردة في الساقين ، فإنها تسمى تجلط الأوردة العميقة. إذا انتقلت الجلطة من الرجل إلى الرئتين يمكن أن تسبب حالة مهددة للحياة تسمى الانسداد الرئوي.

لقاحات COVID-19

حاليًا ، لا توجد علاجات محددة متاحة لـ COVID-19 على الرغم من تعددها اللقاحات تم تطويرها الآن. هذه اللقاحات آمنة وفعالة في الحد من انتشار COVID-19. على الرغم من أن الأشخاص الذين تم تطعيمهم لا يزال بإمكانهم الإصابة بالفيروس وتظهر عليهم أعراض خفيفة ، إلا أنهم أقل عرضة للإصابة بمرض حاد أو يحتاجون إلى دخول المستشفى.

كيف يختبر الأطباء لفيروس كورونا؟

لكي يصاب الشخص بالعدوى ، يحتاج الفيروس إلى دخول الجسم والدخول إلى خلايانا. بمجرد دخول الفيروس إلى الخلية ، يستخدم آلية الخلية لصنع فيروسات جديدة. على غرار الخلايا البشرية ، تمتلك الفيروسات مادة وراثية فريدة خاصة بها يمكن العثور عليها داخل الخلية المصابة. يقوم الأطباء باختبار COVID-19 من خلال البحث عن أجزاء من المادة الوراثية الموجودة فقط في SARS-CoV-2.

يصيب فيروس SARS-CoV-2 عادةً الخلايا الموجودة في مؤخرة الأنف (البلعوم الأنفي) والحلق والرئتين. لمعرفة ما إذا كان الشخص مصابًا بفيروس SARS-CoV-2 ، سيستخدم الطبيب مسحة لأخذ عينة من الخلايا من مؤخرة الأنف أو الحلق (انظر الصورة أدناه). يستغرق الاختبار حوالي 5 ثوانٍ لإكماله ، وبينما يجد الكثير من الناس أنه غير مريح ، يجب ألا يكون مؤلمًا. سيتم بعد ذلك إرسال العينة إلى المختبر الذي سيختبر الفيروس.

NP ومسحة الحلق

كيف يعمل الاختبار المعملي؟

تستخدم معظم المعامل اختبارًا يسمى تفاعل البلمرة المتسلسل (PCR) للبحث عن SARS-CoV-2. يبحث الاختبار عن قطع محددة جدًا من المادة الوراثية الفيروسية تسمى "سلاسل الحمض النووي". هذه التسلسلات هي جزء من الجين ، قسم من المادة الوراثية يشبه الوصفة المستخدمة لبناء بروتين معين. يستخدم الاختبار قطعًا أصغر من المادة الجينية تسمى البادئات المصممة خصيصًا للالتصاق بتسلسلات الحمض النووي الفريدة للفيروس. يتم استخدام مواد أولية تلتصق بالتسلسل لصنع المزيد من المواد الجينية التي تخبر جهاز الاختبار أنه تم العثور على الفيروس.

كيف يتم الإبلاغ عن نتائج هذا الاختبار؟

يمكن أن يؤدي هذا النوع من الاختبارات إلى ثلاث نتائج محتملة:

  • لم يتم الكشف عن: لم يتم العثور على الفيروس في العينة. تعتبر هذه نتيجة اختبار سلبية.
  • الكشف عن: تم العثور على الفيروس في العينة. تعتبر هذه نتيجة اختبار إيجابية.
  • باطل - لا يمكن إكمال الاختبار بشكل طبيعي. هذه النتيجة لا تعني أنه لم يتم العثور على الفيروس في العينة. يجب تكرار الاختبار غير الصحيح.

المتغيرات المثيرة للقلق (المركبات العضوية المتطايرة)

عندما يتكاثر الفيروس داخل الخلايا البشرية ، تحدث أخطاء صغيرة تؤدي إلى تغيرات في الشفرة الجينية للفيروس. بالصدفة العشوائية ، قد تساعد بعض هذه التغييرات (المسماة "الطفرات") على انتشار الفيروس. عندما تحدث هذه التغييرات أو الطفرات ، يجب مراقبتها بعناية لأنها قد تسبب سلالات جديدة ، أو "متغيرات" ، لتصبح أكثر عدوى من الفيروس الأصلي. هذا المفهوم يشبه مفهوم التطور الطبيعي. يوجد الآن عدة أنواع من SARS-CoV-2 يمكنها الانتشار بشكل أسرع من الفيروس الأصلي.

منذ بداية الوباء ، كانت سلطات الصحة العامة تتابع هذه التغييرات. عندما يتبين أن سلالة جديدة أكثر عدوى أو تسبب مرضًا أكثر شدة أو ربما تفلت من الحماية التي تمنحها اللقاحات ، فإنها تسمى "المتغيرات المثيرة للقلق" (VOC) ويتم متابعة المرضى عن كثب.

تستخدم المعامل نفس المعدات وتجري نفس الاختبارات للبحث عن فيروس SARS-CoV-2 الأصلي ومتغيراته. ستظهر هذه النتيجة في تقرير المختبر الخاص بك كواحد مما يلي:

  • تم اكتشاف الطفرة الجينية لـ SARS-CoV-2 VOC S: هذا يعني أنه تم العثور على متغير مثير للقلق (VOC) في عينتك.
  • الطفرة الجينية لـ SARS-CoV-2 VOC S "لم يتم اكتشافها": هذا يعني أنه لم يتم العثور على متغير مثير للقلق (VOC) في عينتك.

بعد ذلك ، تتابع العديد من المعامل هذه النتيجة بقائمة من الطفرات المحددة ، وما إذا تم العثور على هذه التغييرات في عينتك. حاليًا ، يتم رصد طفرتين فقط بشكل نشط ، ولكن القائمة قد تزداد مع إدراك السلطات الصحية للمتغيرات الأكثر أهمية. اعتبارًا من أبريل 2021 ، تراقب هيئة الصحة العامة في أونتاريو الطفرات N501Y و E484K ، وكلاهما يسبب تعديلات على البروتين الفيروسي المسؤول عن الالتصاق بالخلايا داخل الرئتين. بينما يحمل ما يسمى بـ "المتغير البريطاني" (المعروف أيضًا باسم B.1.1.7) لـ SARS-CoV-2 طفرات N501Y ، فإن كلا من "البديل الجنوب أفريقي" (B.1.351) و "البديل البرازيلي" (P .1) تحمل طفرات N501Y و E484K.

هذه المعلومات مهمة لسلطات الصحة العامة لأنها ستوجه التدخلات على مستوى السكان لتقييم ومنع انتشار هذه المتغيرات. في هذا الوقت ، لا يؤثر ما إذا كان لديك الفيروس الأصلي أو متغير معين على الرعاية التي ستتلقاها.

اختبار إيجابي

قد تكون نتيجة اختبار الشخص إيجابية عند إصابته وجسمه ينتج نسخًا جديدة من الفيروس. بالنسبة لمعظم الناس ، سيحدث هذا في وقت مبكر من المرض عندما تظهر عليهم الأعراض. سيختبر الأشخاص الآخرون إيجابية قبل أن تبدأ الأعراض. لا يزال هؤلاء الأشخاص معديين ويجب عليهم اتخاذ الاحتياطات اللازمة لعدم نشر الفيروس للآخرين. قد يكون اختبار الأشخاص الذين اقتربوا من نهاية المرض ولا يزالون يعانون من أعراض سلبية لأن الاختبار يبحث عن أجزاء من المادة الوراثية الفيروسية التي لن تكون موجودة بعد أن يصبح الفيروس غير نشط. لهذا السبب ، لا يحتاج الشخص الذي كانت نتيجة اختباره إيجابية إلى إعادة الاختبار حتى إذا استمرت الأعراض في الظهور.

هل يمكن أن يصاب الشخص بفيروس كورونا ويكون الاختبار سلبيًا؟

على الرغم من أنه غير شائع ، يمكن للشخص المصاب بـ COVID-19 أن يكون اختباره سلبيًا لـ SARS-CoV-2. أحد الأسباب المحتملة هو أن الاختبار تم إجراؤه في وقت مبكر جدًا من المرض وأن الشخص لم يكن يصنع ما يكفي من الفيروسات لاكتشافه عن طريق الاختبار. سبب آخر محتمل هو أن المسحة أجريت بشكل غير صحيح ولم يتم أخذ عينات كافية من الجزء الخلفي من الأنف أو الحلق.

كم من الوقت سيستغرق الحصول على نتيجتي؟

سيعتمد هذا على نوع الجهاز المستخدم لإجراء الاختبار وعدد الأشخاص الذين تم اختبارهم في منطقتك. بعد تلقي عينة الأنسجة ، يمكن أن تنتج معظم أنواع الآلات نتيجة في غضون 24-48 ساعة. ومع ذلك ، قد يستغرق الأمر وقتًا أطول اعتمادًا على عدد الاختبارات التي يتم إجراؤها في أي وقت. تحقق مع طبيبك أو السلطة الصحية المحلية لمعرفة المدة التي ستستغرقها للحصول على النتيجة.

: فيديو ماذا يحدث لاختبار COVID-19 الخاص بي؟

موارد COVID-19 الأخرى

الحكومة الكندية

أداة التقييم الذاتي لمقاطعة أونتاريو COVID-19

منظمة الصحة العالمية

مراكز السيطرة على الأمراض

بقلم ماثيو ماغيار ، دكتوراه في الطب ، كرم راموتار ، وفينسنت ديسلاندز دكتوراه في الطب ، زمالة الكلية الملكية للجراحين
آخر تحديث 30 أبريل 2021
A+ A A-

How to read your COVID-19 report

What is COVID-19?

COVID-19 is a respiratory disease that has turned into a pandemic affecting more than 100 million people worldwide. It is caused by a virus called severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2). This virus is part of a large family of viruses known as coronaviruses.

The coronavirus family includes many different types of viruses, some that cause disease in humans and some that cause disease in animals.  SARS-CoV-2 is very closely related to the coronaviruses that cause Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome (SARS) and Middle Eastern Respiratory Syndrome (MERS).

COVID-19

What are the symptoms of COVID-19 and how to it affect the body?

According to the evidence available today, most people who develop COVID-19 will experience mild symptoms such as cough, fever, low energy, muscle aches, and loss of taste or smell. Less common symptoms include sore throat, runny nose, and nasal congestion. Many people infected by SARS-CoV-2 will not experience any symptoms at all.

More severe symptoms such as difficulty breathing can develop in older patients and those with pre-existing medical conditions such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes, lung disease, cancer, chronic kidney disease, and history of organ or bone marrow transplant. People who are obese or who smoke are also at higher risk for severe disease. Although rare, severe disease may also develop in some younger people without additional risk factors.

People with COVID-19 may develop a type of lung injury called pneumonia that may lead to respiratory failure. These people may need to be hospitalized until their condition improves. People with severe disease can die without medical attention. People with mild symptoms do not require any medical treatment and will recover fully within 7 to 14 days.

In people with severe disease, COVID-19 is also associated with an increased risk of developing blood clots. When the clots involve the veins in the legs, they are called deep vein thrombosis. If the clot travels from the leg to the lungs it can cause a life-threatening condition called a pulmonary embolism.

Vaccines for COVID-19

Currently, there are no specific treatments available for COVID-19 although multiple vaccines have now been developed. These vaccines are safe and effective at reducing the spread of COVID-19. Although people who are vaccinated can still contract the virus and show mild symptoms, they are much less likely to develop severe disease or require hospitalization.

How do doctors test for coronavirus?

In order for a person to become infected, the virus needs to enter the body and get inside our cells. Once inside a cell, the virus uses the machinery of the cell to make new viruses. Similar to human cells, viruses have their own unique genetic material which can be found inside an infected cell. Doctors test for COVID-19 by looking for pieces of genetic material that are only found in SARS-CoV-2.

SARS-CoV-2 typically infects cells at the back of the nose (nasopharynx), throat, and lungs. To see if a person has been infected by SARS-CoV-2, a doctor will use a swab to take a sample of cells from the back of the nose or throat (see picture below). The test takes approximately 5 seconds to complete and while many people find it to be uncomfortable, it should not be painful. The sample will then be sent to a laboratory that will test for the virus.

NP and Throat Swab

How does the lab test work?

Most labs use a test called polymerase chain reaction (PCR) to look for SARS-CoV-2. The test looks for very specific pieces of viral genetic material called “nucleic acid sequences”. These sequences are part of a gene, a section of genetic material which is like a recipe used to build a specific protein. The test uses smaller pieces of genetic material called primers specially designed to stick to nucleic acid sequences unique to the virus. Primers that stick to a sequence are used to make more genetic material which tells the testing machine that the virus has been found.

How are the results of this test reported?

This kind of test can produce three possible results:

  • Not detected: The virus was not found in the sample. This is considered a negative test result.
  • Detected: The virus was found in the sample. This is considered a positive test result.
  • Invalid – The test could not be completed normally. This result does not mean that the virus was not found in the sample. An invalid test should be repeated.

Variants of concern (VOCs)

When a virus multiplies within human cells, small mistakes occur which causes changes in the genetic code of the virus. By random chance, some of these changes (termed “mutations”) may help the virus spread. When these changes or mutations occur, they need to be watched carefully because they may cause new strains, or “variants”, to become more infectious than the original virus. This concept is like that of natural evolution. There are now several variants of SARS-CoV-2 that can spread faster than the original virus.

Since the start of the pandemic, public health authorities have been keeping track of these changes. When a new strain is shown to be more contagious or cause more severe disease or potentially escape the protection conferred by vaccines, they are termed “variants of concern” (VOC) and patients are followed more closely.

Labs use the same equipment and perform the same tests to look for the original SARS-CoV-2 virus and its variants. This result will appear in your lab report as one of the following:

  • SARS-CoV-2 VOC S Gene Mutation “Detected”: This means that a variant of concern (VOC) was found in your sample.
  • SARS-CoV-2 VOC S Gene Mutation “Not Detected”: This means that a variant of concern (VOC) was not found in your sample.

Many labs then follow-up this result with a list of specific mutations, and whether these changes were found in your sample. Currently, only two mutations are actively monitored, but the list might increase as health authorities become aware of more important variants.  As of April 2021, Public Health Ontario is monitoring mutations N501Y and E484K, both of which cause modifications to the viral protein responsible for sticking to cells within the lungs. While the so-called “British Variant” (also known as B.1.1.7) of SARS-CoV-2 carries the N501Y mutations, both the “South African Variant” (B.1.351) and the “Brazilian Variant” (P.1) carry the N501Y and E484K mutations.

This information is important for public health authorities as it will guide interventions at the population level to assess and prevent the spread of these variants. At this time, whether you have the original virus, or a specific variant does not impact the care you will receive.

Testing positive

A person may test positive when they have been infected and their body is producing new copies of the virus. For most people, this will happen early in the disease when they have symptoms. Other people will test positive before symptoms start. These people are still contagious and should take precautions not to spread the virus to others. People near the end of the disease who still have symptoms may test negative because the test looks for pieces of viral genetic material that will no longer be present after the virus has become inactive. For this reason, a person who tests positive does not need to be re-tested even if they continue to have symptoms.

Can a person have coronavirus and test negative?

Although uncommon, a person with COVID-19 can test negative for SARS-CoV-2. One possible reason is that the test was performed too early in the disease and the person was not making enough virus for it to be detected by the test.  Another possible reason is that the swab was performed incorrectly and not enough cells from the back of the nose or throat were sampled.

How long will it take to receive my result?

This will depend on the type of machine used to perform your test and the number of people tested in your area. After the tissue sample has been received, most types of machines can produce a result in 24-48 hours. However, it may take longer depending on the number of tests that are being performed at any given time. Check with your doctor or local health authority to find out how long it will take to receive your result.

Video: What happens to my COVID-19 test?

Other COVID-19 resources

Government of Canada

Province of Ontario COVID-19 Self Assessment Tool

World Health Organization

Centers for Disease Control

by Matthew Magyar MD, Karam Ramotar PhD, and Vincent Deslandes MD PhD FRCPC
Last updated April 30, 2021
A+ A A-