肺炎

什么是肺炎?

肺炎是由肺部感染引起的 病毒、细菌或真菌。 大多数肺炎病例是在通过鼻子和嘴巴吸入的传染性颗粒沿着气道进入肺部时开始的。 肺炎可以同时影响一个或两个肺。 该疾病可能仅涉及受影响肺的一部分,也可能涉及整个肺。

当您呼吸时,空气会通过您的嘴巴和鼻子进入您的身体,然后沿着呼吸道进入您的肺部。 在肺内,氧气进入血液,二氧化碳被排出体外。

最大的气道称为气管。 当它进入胸部时,气管分成两个分支,称为支气管。 气道是内衬细胞的中空管,细胞表面具有称为纤毛的纤细微小的毛发状结构。 纤毛通过在吸入的颗粒有机会进入您的肺部之前去除它们来帮助预防感染。 航道还包含 腺体 产生粘稠的粘液,可以捕获空气中的颗粒。

你有两个肺,一个在胸部右侧,一个在左侧。 肺分为称为叶的部分。 右肺有上、中、下三叶。 左肺略小,有上下两叶。 当支气管进入肺部时,它们分裂成越来越小的气道,称为细支气管,最终在称为肺泡的充满空气的空间中结束。

肺泡是非常小的杯状空气填充空间,由称为肺细胞的扁平细胞排列。 有两种类型的肺细胞。 1 型肺细胞小而扁平。 2 型肺细胞更厚,形状更像立方体。 肺泡被称为毛细血管的精细血管网络包围,毛细血管将血液带入和带出肺部。

正常肺

肺炎的症状有哪些?

肺炎最常见的症状包括咳嗽、发烧、发冷、产生粘液和呼吸困难。 其他不太常见的症状包括意识模糊、胸痛、嘴唇和指甲发青以及食欲不振。 与其他感染一样,老年人和免疫系统受损的人的肺炎更严重。

肺炎的类型

肺炎有多种类型,尽管大多数类型是由细菌或 病毒. 不太常见的类型是由真菌引起的。

肺炎

细菌性肺炎

当细菌通常从鼻子或嘴巴进入肺部和肺泡时,就会开始这种类型的肺炎。 细菌也可以通过血液从身体的其他部位传播到肺部。 肺泡中的细菌将在空气空间内生长,直到它们被身体的免疫系统检测到,这将试图从身体中清除细菌。 为了帮助这个过程,肺泡周围的小毛细血管将打开以增加流向肺部的血液量。 这允许更多 炎症细胞 包括中性粒细胞到达肺部。 病理学家将这个过程描述为 急性炎症. 肺炎患者咳嗽时产生的绿色或黄色痰液由数百万个中性粒细胞和来自受损组织和死亡细菌的碎片组成。 这是肺部发生活动性炎症的迹象。

尽管需要中性粒细胞来杀死和清除肺部的细菌,但它们也会损坏衬在肺泡内的肺细胞。 受损的肺细胞与额外的血流相结合会导致液体充满空气空间。 这个过程称为水肿。 由于液体阻止空气进入肺泡,因此肺炎患者可能会呼吸困难。 当进行 X 射线或 CT 扫描时,肺部感染和水肿的区域被描述为“实变”。

一旦您的免疫系统控制住了感染,称为巨噬细胞的特化免疫细胞就会进入清除死细菌和受损组织。 同时,水肿液会在气隙中组织起来,变得更加坚实。 在 X 射线或 CT 扫描中,肺部的这些区域会呈灰白色。

细菌性肺炎可分为大叶性肺炎和支气管肺炎。 在大叶性肺炎中,细菌已经扩散到大部分肺叶。 在支气管肺炎中,细菌通过小气隙扩散,累及肺中多个肺叶的部分。 因此,支气管肺炎涉及的肺区域通常靠近气道。

通常引起肺炎的细菌类型包括:

  • 链球菌
  • 葡萄球菌
  • 克雷伯氏
  • 假单胞菌
  • 退伍军人
  • 支原体

病毒性肺炎

这种类型的肺炎开始于 病毒 颗粒通常通过鼻子或嘴巴进入身体。 病毒传播到肺部,在那里感染肺泡和气道中的肺细胞或其他细胞。

病毒使用在其表面发现的特殊蛋白质附着在肺细胞表面的其他蛋白质上。 例如,SARS-CoV-2,这种病毒会导致 Covid-19 使用其表面的蛋白质附着在肺细胞上的蛋白质血管紧张素转换酶 2 (ACE2) 上。 病毒附着在细胞上后,会被带入细胞内,在那里它使用细胞的机制来制造病毒的新副本。

被病毒感染的肺细胞会受损并死亡。 身体通过用更厚、更强的 1 型肺细胞替换薄的 2 型肺细胞来应对这种损伤。 受伤的肺细胞也会释放信号,告诉专门的抗病毒免疫细胞,称为 淋巴细胞 来肺。 与细菌性肺炎一样,液体充满空气空间,使肺炎患者呼吸困难。

病理学家使用术语透明膜来描述肺泡内表面上厚厚的粉红色组织带。 这些透明膜通常与 2 型肺细胞和充满气腔和肺泡壁的液体相结合。 肺炎患者呼吸困难,因为增厚的肺泡壁使肺部和血液之间的氧气交换更加困难。 在 X 射线或 CT 扫描中与病毒性肺炎相关的变化也会显得更灰或更白,因为这些区域的肺泡比正常空气少。

通常引起肺炎的病毒类型包括:

  • 严重急性呼吸系统综合症冠状病毒 2 (SARS-CoV-2)
  • 流感
  • 副流感
  • 麻疹
  • 呼吸道合胞病毒
  • 巨细胞病毒
  • 腺病毒
  • 单纯疱疹病毒
  • 水痘带状疱疹病毒

病理学家如何诊断肺炎?

病理学家可以在显微镜下检查肺部组织样本后做出肺炎的诊断。 仅去除少量组织样本的程序称为 活检. 用于显微镜检查的组织量将取决于所进行的活检类型。

常见的活检类型包括:

  • 经支气管活检:使用通过支气管壁插入肺部的镊子取出少量组织样本。
  • 冷冻活检:更大的组织样本是通过用探针冷冻肺的小区域并从身体中取出冷冻组织来获得的。
  • 支气管内 活检:使用镊子去除组织的多个小样本,以从气道或气道壁内部获取组织。
  • 楔形活检:外科医生在手术室切除了更大的肺。

当组织被称为染料的组合染色时,可以看到与肺炎相关的大多数变化 苏木精和伊红 (他)。 但是,为了确定肺炎的类型,您的病理学家可能会要求 特殊污渍 例如革兰氏染色、GMS 染色和 PAS 染色。 另一种类型的测试称为 免疫组化 可能会被命令寻找特定类型的病毒。 然而,只有在将组织样本送到微生物实验室后才能确定确切原因,该实验室拥有识别病毒、细菌和真菌的特殊工具。

其他有用的资源

疾病控制和预防中心

世界卫生组织

Radiopedia – 肺炎

作者:Katherina Baranova 医学博士和 Matthew J. Cecchini 医学博士 FRCPC(3 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日更新)
A+ A A-

Pneumonia - Lungs -

This article will help you read and understand your pathology report for pneumonia.

By Katherina Baranova MD and Matthew J. Cecchini MD PhD FRCPC, updated April 3, 2020

Quick facts:

  • Pneumonia is an infection of the lungs caused by viruses, bacteria, or fungus.
  • The most common symptoms of pneumonia include cough, fever, chills, mucus production, and difficultly breathing.
  • There are many types of pneumonia although most types are caused by bacteria or viruses. Less common types are caused by fungus.

The anatomy of the lungs

When you breathe air enters your body through your mouth and nose and travels down airways into your lungs. Inside the lungs, oxygen enters the blood and carbon dioxide is removed from the body.

The largest airway is called the trachea. When it enters the chest, the trachea splits into two branches call bronchi. The airways are hollow tubes lined by cells that have thin microscopic hair-like structures on their surface called cilia. The cilia help prevent infections by removing inhaled particles before they have a chance to enter your lungs. The airways also contain glands that produce thick mucus which traps particles in the air.

Normal lung

 

You have two lungs, one on the right side of your chest and one on the left. The lungs are divided into parts called lobes. The right lung has three lobes – upper, middle, and lower. The left lung is slightly smaller and has two lobes – upper and lower. As the bronchi enter the lungs they split into smaller and smaller airways known as bronchioles ultimately ending in air filled spaces called alveoli.

The alveoli are extremely small cup-shaped air-filled spaces lined by flat cells called pneumocytes. There are two types of pneumocytes. Type 1 pneumocytes are small and flat. Type 2 pneumocytes are thicker and shaped more like a cube. The alveoli are surrounded by a fine network of blood vessels called capillaries which carry blood in and out of the lungs.

What is pneumonia?

Pneumonia is an infection of the lungs caused by viruses, bacteria, or fungus. Most pneumonias start when infectious particles, breathed in through the nose and mouth, travel down the airways into the lungs. Pneumonia can affect one or both lungs at the same time. The disease can involve only a part of the affected lung or it can involve the entire.

What are the symptoms of pneumonia?

The most common symptoms of pneumonia include cough, fever, chills, mucus production, and difficultly breathing. Other less common symptoms include confusion, chest pain, blue lips and fingernails, and loss of appetite. Pneumonia, like other infections, is worse in older people and people whose immune system is impaired.

Types of pneumonia

There are many types of pneumonia although most types are caused by bacteria or viruses. Less common types are caused by fungus.

Pneumonia

 

Bacterial Pneumonia

This type of pneumonia starts when bacteria enter the lungs and alveoli, usually from the nose or mouth. Bacteria can also travel to the lungs from other parts of the body through the blood. Bacteria in the alveoli will grow within the air space until they are detected by the body’s immune system, which will attempt to remove the bacteria from the body. To aid in this process, small capillaries surrounding the alveoli will open to increase the amount of blood flowing to the lungs. This allows more inflammatory cells including neutrophils to reach the lungs. Pathologists describe this process as acute inflammation. The green or yellow sputum produced when a person with pneumonia coughs is made up of millions of neutrophils and debris from damaged tissue and dead bacteria. It is a sign that active inflammation is taking place in the lungs.

Although neutrophils are required to kill and remove the bacteria in the lungs, they can also damage the pneumocytes lining the alveoli. The combination of damaged pneumocytes with extra blood flow can cause fluid to fill the air spaces. This process is called edema. Because the fluid prevents air from getting into the alveoli, a person with pneumonia can have difficulty breathing. When an x-ray or CT scan is performed, areas of the lung with infection and edema are described as showing “consolidation”.

Once your immune system has the infection under control, specialized immune cells called macrophages will move in to clean up the dead bacteria and damaged tissue. At the same time, the edema fluid will organize in the air spaces and become more solid. These areas of the lung will look grey to white on an x-ray or CT scan.

A bacterial pneumonia can be separated into a lobar and bronchopneumonia. In a lobar pneumonia, the bacteria have spread to involve most of the lobe of one lung. In bronchopneumonia, the bacteria have spread through the small air spaces to involve parts of more than one lobe in a lung. Because of this, the areas of lung involved by bronchopneumonia are usually near an airway.

Types of bacteria that commonly cause pneumonia include:

  • Streptococcus
  • Staphylococcus
  • Klebsiella
  • Pseudomonas
  • Legionella
  • Mycoplasma

Viral Pneumonia

This type of pneumonia starts when viral particles enter the body, usually through the nose or mouth. The virus travels to the lungs where they infect the pneumocytes or other cells in the alveoli and airways.

Viruses use specialized proteins found on their surface to attach to other proteins on the surface of cells in the lungs. For example, SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19 uses a protein on its surface to attach to the protein angiotensin-converting enzyme 2 (ACE2) on cells in the lung. After the virus attaches to the cell, it is brought inside the cell where it uses the machinery of the cell to make new copies of the virus.

Pneumocytes infected by a virus can become damaged and die. The body responds to this injury by replacing the thin type 1 pneumocytes with the thicker, stronger type 2 pneumocytes. Injured pneumocytes also release signals that tell specialized virus fighting immune cells called lymphocytes to come to lungs. As in bacterial pneumonia, fluid fills the air spaces which makes it difficult for a person with pneumonia to breathe.

Pathologists use the term hyaline membranes to describe thick pinks bands of tissue on the inner surface of the alveoli. These hyaline membranes are often seen in combination with type 2 pneumocytes and fluid filling the air spaces and alveolar walls. People with pneumonia have difficulty breathing because the thickened alveolar walls make it more difficult for oxygen to exchange between the lungs that the blood. The changes associated with viral pneumonia on x-ray or CT scan will also appear more grey or white because the alveoli have less air than normal in these areas.

Types of viruses that commonly cause pneumonia include:

  • Severe acute respiratory syndrome coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2)
  • Influenza
  • Parainfluenza
  • Measles
  • Respiratory syncytial virus
  • Cytomegalovirus
  • Adenovirus
  • Herpes simplex virus
  • Varicella Zoster virus

How do pathologists diagnose pneumonia?

A pathologist can make the diagnosis of pneumonia after examining a tissue sample from the lung under the microscope. A procedure that removes only a small sample of tissue is called a biopsy. The amount of tissue sent for microscopic examination will depend on the type of biopsy performed.

Common types of biopsies include:

  • Transbronchial biopsy: A small sample of tissue is removed using forceps that are inserted through the bronchial wall into the lung.
  • Cryobiopsy: A larger tissue sample is obtained by freezing a small area of the lung with a probe and removing the frozen tissue from the body.
  • Endobronchial biopsy: Multiple small samples of tissue are removed using forceps to obtain tissue from inside the airway or airway walls.
  • Wedge biopsy: A larger piece of lung is removed by a surgeon in the operating room.

Most of the changes associated with pneumonia can be seen when the tissue is stained with a combination of dyes called hematoxylin and eosin (H&E). However, in order to determine the type of pneumonia, your pathologist may order special stains such as a Gram, GMS, and PAS stains. Another type of test called immunohistochemistry may be ordered to look for specific types of viruses. However, the exact cause can only be determined after a tissue sample is sent to the microbiology laboratory which has special tools for identifying viruses, bacteria, and fungus.

Other helpful resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

World Health Organization

Radiopedia – Pneumonia

A+ A A-