如何阅读您的骨髓报告

本文将帮助您了解典型骨髓病理报告中描述的基本信息。 它并不意味着提供有关特定诊断的信息。

作者:Rosemarie Tremblay-LeMay MD MSc FRCPC,21 年 2021 月 XNUMX 日更新

骨髓活检

要闻速览:

  • 骨髓是一种位于骨骼中心的特殊组织。
  • 通常进行骨髓检查以寻找淋巴瘤和白血病等疾病。
  • 骨髓病理报告包括病理学家在显微镜下检查您的骨髓样本组织时所看到的信息。
  • 大多数骨髓病理报告将包括有关组织的数量和质量以及在显微镜下看到的正常骨髓细胞类型的信息。
  • 任何异常细胞或变化也将被描述。

什么是骨髓病理报告?

骨髓病理报告是由医生为您准备的医疗文件 病理学家. 它包括病理学家在显微镜下检查您的骨髓样本组织时所看到的信息。 它还可能包括有关对组织样本进行的其他测试的信息,例如 or 免疫组化.

正常骨髓

骨髓是一种位于骨骼中心的特殊组织。 与非常坚硬的骨头外部不同,骨髓是柔软的。 在儿童中,大多数骨骼的中心都可以找到骨髓。 然而,作为成年人,骨髓通常存在于肋骨、胸骨、骨盆(髋骨)和椎骨(背骨)中。

骨髓是产生大部分血细胞的地方。 这些细胞包括白细胞 (WBC)、红细胞 (RBC) 和血小板。 正常的骨髓充满了发育中的血细胞,周围是结缔组织和脂肪。

检查骨髓的原因

查看您的骨髓是否健康并产生正常血细胞的最佳方法是在显微镜下检查组织样本。 如果您的症状可能由骨髓疾病引起,或者您的血细胞出现无法解释的变化,您的医生也可能会要求进行骨髓检查。

骨髓疾病有很多种,例如白血病或影响血细胞或血小板生成的疾病。 您的骨髓也可能与淋巴瘤或浆细胞疾病有关。 来自身体其他部位的癌症也可以扩散到骨骼(这被称为 转移).

您的骨髓也可能受到涉及整个身体的问题的影响,例如铁或维生素 B12 等营养素缺乏、感染和肾脏疾病。 在某些情况下,如果您的血液在治疗后仍然存在异常变化,或者如果他们怀疑可能存在涉及骨髓的单独问题,您的医生可能会要求进行骨髓检查。

如何检查骨髓?

为了了解您的骨髓内部发生了什么,您的医生会取出一小部分骨髓样本。 样本通常取自臀部的骨头。 大多数样本取自称为后髂嵴的髋骨区域,因为它很大且易于用针头够到。

可以进行两种类型的测试来检查骨髓。 您的医生可能会同时进行一种或两种类型的操作。

  1. 吸出 – 抽吸物使用针头吸出少量骨髓。 然后将组织样本铺在载玻片上,以便对其进行检查。 展开组织可以让您的病理学家检查单个细胞的大小、形状和颜色并对其进行计数。 因为样本被铺在载玻片上,所以不可能看到细胞在骨髓内是如何组织的。
  2. 芯针活检 – 芯针 活检 也用针取出少量骨髓。 然而,与抽吸物不同,核心活检中的组织样本是一块实心组织,需要将其切成薄片才能在显微镜下进行检查。 核心针活检更适合观察骨髓的组织以及细胞如何粘在一起。 此外,一些疾病会导致骨髓纤维化,这使得吸入细胞变得非常困难。 在这种情况下,核心活检对于检查骨髓至关重要。

当病理学家检查骨髓组织样本时,他们首先确定是否有足够的组织可以进行诊断。 然后他们寻找一些基本特征,使他们能够确定组织是正常还是异常。

您将在下面找到病理学家在检查骨髓组织样本时通常会寻找的基本信息。

核心活检的长度和质量

您的病理学家将在核心针活检中测量组织样本的长度。 由于某些类型的疾病可能仅涉及部分骨髓,因此小的组织样本可能会遗漏疾病区域。

您的病理学家还将评论核心针活检的质量。 例如,一些组织样本可能会在手术过程中被压碎,这将限制病理学家分析细胞的能力。

如果组织样本太小或质量低,您的病理学家可能会建议重复活检。

骨小梁

小梁是穿过骨髓的硬骨薄片。 某些类型的疾病会导致小梁变得比正常情况更厚或更薄。 出于这个原因,您的病理学家将描述活检中看到的任何小梁,以及它们是否正常或异常。

吸液质量

骨髓抽吸物通常由多个小块组织组成,抽吸物的质量取决于载玻片上的块数。 太少的碎片可能会阻止您的病理学家做出诊断。 抽吸物也可能含有大量血液(这称为血液稀释抽吸物),并且在某些情况下可能不被信任代表骨髓。

如果没有足够的碎片可供检查或血液过多,您的病理学家可能会建议重复活检。

蜂窝性

骨髓由发育中的血细胞和脂肪组成。 随着年龄的增长,相对于脂肪的细胞数量会发生变化。 与脂肪较多的老年人相比,年轻人的骨髓细胞通常更多。

您的病理学家会查看您的骨髓中相对于脂肪的细胞数量是否适合您的年龄,或者细胞总量是否发生变化。

骨髓中细胞总数的变化可能是癌症的征兆、骨髓细胞功能不正常的征兆,或者是骨髓对身体不同部位发生的事情的反应。 您的病理学家将仔细检查细胞以确定原因,并可能会在需要时订购额外的测试。

骨髓中常见的细胞类型

造血细胞

骨髓中正在发育的血细胞称为造血细胞。 有三种主要类型的造血细胞,每一种都会产生不同的血细胞组。 来自单一类型造血细胞的所有血细胞被称为“谱系”。

造血细胞的三个谱系是:

  1. 类红细胞:这是产生红细胞 (RBC) 的谱系。 正在发育的红细胞被称为成红细胞。
  2. 粒细胞:该谱系产生白细胞,如中性粒细胞。 未成熟的粒细胞被称为成髓细胞。
  3. 巨核细胞:这个谱系产生血小板。 血小板来自称为巨核细胞的大细胞。

来自所有三个谱系的细胞都存在于正常、健康的骨髓中。 您的病理学家将检查组织样本以查看是否存在所有三个谱系。 他们还将查看来自任何一个谱系的细胞数量是否有任何变化,或者是否有任何发育中的细胞显示出异常的形状或大小。 病理学家使用这个词 不典型增生 来描述看起来异常的细胞。

爆炸

正常的骨髓显示出发育中的血细胞和准备释放到血流中的成熟血细胞的混合物。 最不成熟的细胞称为原始细胞,它们的数量非常少。 如果您的病理学家看到比正常情况更多的发育细胞,这称为“左移”。 如果没有看到成熟细胞,这被称为“成熟停滞”。 左移和成熟停止都是异常的,但左移有时可能是您的骨髓对您身体中发生的其他事情(例如感染)的反应。

其他类型的细胞

正常的骨髓还包含少量其他细胞,如 淋巴细胞 以及 浆细胞. 发育中的淋巴细胞称为淋巴母细胞。

骨髓中可能出现的异常细胞

如果您的病理学家发现骨髓中通常不存在的其他类型的细胞,他们将在您的报告中进行描述。 从身体其他部位开始的癌症可以扩散到骨骼。 这被称为一个 转移. 可以订购额外的测试以确定异常细胞的来源。 淋巴瘤 也可能涉及骨髓,您的医生可能会进行骨髓检查,作为您分期的一部分。

铁渍

铁储存在骨髓中。 您的病理学家可以使用 特殊染色 吸出载玻片上的铁以确定骨髓中是否存在正常量的铁。

铁染色还可以帮助您的病理学家看到称为环形铁粒幼细胞的异常细胞。 这些细胞可见于各种情况,例如接触毒素、某些药物、铜缺乏症,但也可见于某些类型的骨髓疾病,例如骨髓增生异常综合征。

纤维化

纤维化 是病理学家用来描述显微镜下疤痕外观的词。 您的病理学家可能会订购 特殊污渍 例如网状蛋白和马森三色,以寻找纤维化区域并确定严重程度。

某些类型的疾病会导致骨髓纤维化。 如果纤维化过多,则会影响骨髓的功能。 在某些类型的疾病中,例如骨髓增生性肿瘤,纤维化的量与疾病的严重程度有关。

A+ A A-

Types of reports

How to read your bone marrow report

bone marrow biopsy

by Rosemarie Tremblay-LeMay MD MSc FRCPC, reviewed on April 7, 2020

How to read your bone marrow pathology report

A bone marrow pathology report is medical document prepared for you by a pathologist. This article will help you understand the basic information described in a typical bone marrow pathology report. It is not meant to provide information about a specific diagnosis.

Normal bone marrow

The bone marrow is a specialized type of tissue found at the centre of a bone. Unlike the outside of a bone, which is very hard, the bone marrow is soft. In children bone marrow can be found at the centre of most bones. However, as adults, the bone marrow is typically found in the ribs, sternum, pelvis (hip bones), and vertebra (back bones).

The bone marrow is where most of your blood cells are produced. These cells include white blood cells (WBC), red blood cells (RBC), and platelets. The normal bone marrow is full of developing blood cells, which are surrounded by connective tissue and fat.

Reasons for examining bone marrow

The best way to see if you bone marrow is healthy and producing normal blood cells is to examine a sample of tissue under the microscope. Your doctor may also request a bone marrow examination if you have symptoms that can be caused by a bone marrow disease or if there is an unexplained change seen in your blood cells.

There are many types of bone marrow diseases, such as leukemia or diseases that affect the production of blood cells or platelets. Your bone marrow can also be involved by lymphoma or plasma cell disorders. Cancers from other parts of the body can also spread to the bone (this is called a metastasis).

Your bone marrow may also be affected by problems that involve your entire body such as deficits in nutrients like iron or vitamin B12, infections, and renal disease. In some cases, your doctor may request a bone marrow examination if abnormal changes in your blood persist despite treatment or if they suspect there may be a separate issue involving the bone marrow.

How is a bone marrow examined?

In order to see what is happening inside your bone marrow, your doctor will remove a small sample of bone marrow. The sample is usually taken from a bone in the hip. Most samples are taken from an area of the hip bone called the posterior iliac crest, because it is large and easy to reach with a needle.

There are two types of tests that can be performed to examine bone marrow. Your doctor may perform one or both types at the same time.

  1. Aspirate – An aspirate uses a needle and suction to remove a small amount of bone marrow. The tissue sample is then spread on a slide so it can be examined. Spreading the tissue allows your pathologist to examine the size, shape, and colour of individual cells and count them. Because the sample is spread onto the slide, it is not possible to see how the cells were organized inside the bone marrow.
  2. Core needle biopsy – A core needle biopsy also uses a needle to remove a small amount of bone marrow. However, unlike an aspirate, the tissue sample in a core biopsy is a solid piece of tissue that needs to be cut into thin sections before it can be examined under a microscope. A core needle biopsy is better at looking at the organization of the bone marrow and how the cells stick together. In addition, some diseases cause fibrosis in the bone marrow which can make it very difficult to aspirate cells. In this situation a core biopsy is crucial to examine the bone marrow.

When a pathologist examines a bone marrow tissue sample, they first determine if enough tissue is available to make a diagnosis. They then look for some basic features that allow them to decide if the tissue is normal or abnormal.

Below you will find the basic information pathologists usually look for when examining a bone marrow tissue sample:

Length and quality of the core biopsy

Your pathologist will measure the length of the tissue sample in the core needle biopsy. Because certain types of diseases may only involve part of the bone marrow, small tissue samples may miss the area of disease.

Your pathologist will also comment on the quality of the core needle biopsy. For example, some tissue samples can be crushed during the procedure which will limit the pathologist’s ability to analyze the cells.

Your pathologist may recommend repeating the biopsy if the tissue sample is too small or of low quality.

Bone trabeculae

Trabeculae are thin pieces of hard bone that run through the bone marrow. Some types of disease cause the trabeculae to become thicker or thinner than normal. For that reason, your pathologist will describe any trabeculae seen in the biopsy and if they look normal or abnormal.

Quality of the aspirate

A bone marrow aspirate is usually made up of multiple small pieces of tissue and the quality of the aspirate depends on the number of pieces on the slide. Too few pieces may prevent your pathologist from making a diagnosis. The aspirate can also contain a lot of blood (this is called a hemodiluted aspirate) and in some cases may not be trusted to represent the bone marrow.

Your pathologist may recommend repeating the biopsy if there are not enough pieces to examine or if there is too much blood.

Cellularity

The bone marrow is made up of both developing blood cells and fat. The number of cells relative to fat changes as we age. Younger people normally have more cells in their bone marrows compared to older people who have more fat.

Your pathologist will look to see if the number of cells relative to fat in your bone marrow is normal for your age or if there is a change in the total amount of cells.

A change in the total number of cells in your bone marrow can be a sign of a cancer, a sign that your bone marrow cells are not functioning normally, or a reaction of the bone marrow to something happening in a different part of your body. Your pathologist will carefully examine the cells to determine the cause and may order additional tests if required.

Types of cells normally seen in the bone marrow

Hematopoietic cells

The developing blood cells in the bone marrow are called hematopoietic cells. There are three main types of hematopoietic cells and each produce a different group of blood cells. All of the blood cells that come from a single type of hematopoietic cell are called a “lineage”.

The three lineages of hematopoietic cells are:

  1. Erythroid: This is the lineage that produces red blood cells (RBC). Developing red blood cells are called erythroblasts.
  2. Granulocytic: This lineage produces white blood cells such as neutrophils. Immature granulocytes are called myeloblasts.
  3. Megakaryocytic: This lineage produces platelets. Platelets come from large cells called megakaryocytes.

Cells from all three lineages are found in a normal, healthy bone marrow. Your pathologist will examine the tissue sample to see if all three lineages are present. They will also look to see if there is any change in the number of cells from any one lineage or if any of the developing cells show an abnormal shape or size. Pathologists use the word dysplasia to describe abnormal looking cells.

A normal bone marrow shows a mixture of both developing blood cells and mature blood cells ready to be released into the blood stream. The most immature cells are called blasts, and they should only be seen in very small numbers. If your pathologist sees more developing cells than normal, this is called a “left shift”. If no mature cells are seen this is called a “maturation arrest”. Both a left shift and maturation arrest are abnormal, but a left shift can sometimes be a reaction of your bone marrow to something else happening in your body such as an infection.

A normal bone marrow also contains small numbers of other cells like lymphocytes and plasma cells. Developing lymphocytes are called lymphoblasts.

Abnormal cells

If your pathologist sees other types of cells not normally found in the bone marrow, they will be described in your report. Cancers that start in another part of the body can spread to the bone. This is called a metastasis. Additional tests may be ordered to determine where the abnormal cells come from. Lymphomas can also involve the bone marrow and your doctor may do a bone marrow examination as part of your staging.

Iron stain

Iron is stored in the bone marrow. Your pathologist can use a special stain for iron on an aspirate slide to determine if there is a normal amount of iron is present in the bone marrow.

The iron stain also helps your pathologist see abnormal cells called ring sideroblasts. These cells can be seen in various circumstances such as exposure to toxins, some medications, copper deficiency, but also in some types of bone marrow diseases such as myelodysplastic syndromes.

Fibrosis

Fibrosis is a word pathologists use to describe the look of a scar under the microscope. Your pathologist may order special stains such as reticulin and Masson Trichrome to look for areas of fibrosis and to determine the severity.

Certain types of diseases can cause fibrosis in your bone marrow. If there is too much fibrosis, this can affect the function of your bone marrow. In certain types of diseases, such as myeloproliferative neoplasms, the amount of fibrosis is related to the severity of the disease.

A+ A A-