如何阅读您的巴氏试验报告

本文将帮助您阅读和理解巴氏试验报告中的信息。

作者:Adnan Karavelic,医学博士 FRCPC,28 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日更新

要闻速览:
  • 巴氏试验是一种筛查试验,用于寻找子宫颈中的异常细胞。
  • 巴氏试验的目的是寻找癌前疾病,但也可以识别癌症。
  • 该地区的大多数癌前疾病和癌症都是由一种叫做 人类乳头状瘤病毒 (HPV)。
  • 您应该与您的医生讨论任何异常结果,他们可能会推荐其他检查。

子宫颈的解剖学和组织学

子宫是一个梨形、中空的女性生殖器官,位于小骨盆中。 子宫的上部称为体部(子宫体),下部称为颈部(子宫颈)。 身体由形成称为子宫内膜的腔的肌肉组成。 子宫内膜由子宫内膜排列 腺体 以及 基质.

子宫颈位于阴道顶部。 穿过子宫颈并连接子宫内膜和阴道的狭窄通道称为宫颈管。 阴道内的子宫颈部分被称为 鳞状细胞. 这些细胞形成一个屏障,称为 上皮 保护子宫颈。

宫颈管被不同类型的细胞覆盖,这些细胞连接形成宫颈管 腺体. 子宫内膜也被腺体覆盖,这些腺体在整个月经周期中都会发生变化。 腺体之间的组织称为 基质.

什么是巴氏试验,为什么要进行?

巴氏试验(巴氏涂片,宫颈涂片)是一种筛查试验,用于寻找子宫颈阴道部分的异常细胞。 它被称为筛查测试,因为它旨在在一个人出现任何症状之前检测疾病。 该测试以 Georgios Papanicolaou 博士的名字命名,他在 20 世纪初与 Aurel Babes 博士一起发明了该测试。

巴氏试验的目的是寻找宫颈癌前病变。 随着时间的推移,这些癌前疾病可能会变成癌症,因此尽早发现和治疗它们很重要。 巴氏试验还可以识别来自宫颈管或子宫内膜的异常细胞。

子宫颈最常见的癌症是 鳞状细胞癌. 这种类型的癌症是从一种称为癌前病变的疾病发展而来的 高级别鳞状上皮内病变 (HSIL)。 巴氏试验旨在寻找鳞状细胞癌和 HSIL。

巴氏试验还可以识别引起感染的微生物,包括:

  • 念珠菌属。
  • 阴道毛滴虫。
  • 放线菌种。
  • 疱疹病毒。
  • 巨细胞病毒。

什么导致宫颈癌?

大多数宫颈癌和癌前病变是由一种叫做 人类乳头状瘤病毒 (HPV)。 病毒感染子宫颈表面的细胞,导致它们随着时间的推移转变为癌细胞。 相同的病毒会导致身体其他部位的癌症和癌前疾病,包括喉咙、肛管、外阴和阴茎。

巴氏试验是如何进行的?

巴氏试验通常由家庭医生、妇科医生或训练有素的护士在医生办公室进行。 您将被要求躺在检查台上,膝盖弯曲。 医生会使用一种称为窥器的医疗设备来检查您的子宫颈。 然后将使用软刷和称为刮刀的刮除装置从您的子宫颈中取出少量组织样本。 对于大多数患者来说,这个过程只需要几分钟。

谁应该接受测试?

对于性活跃的女性,应从 21 岁开始使用巴氏试验进行筛查。 对于从未有过性生活的女性,筛查应该推迟到她们有过性生活的时候。 性活动包括性交,以及涉及与任一性别伴侣的生殖器区域的数字或口头性活动。 如果未检测到异常细胞,则应每 3 年重复测试一次。 如果过去 70 年的所有检测结果均为阴性,女性可以选择在 10 岁时停止筛查。

即使您怀孕,巴氏试验也是安全有效的。 孕妇应按照与非孕妇相同的指南进行筛查。 切除子宫的女性和仍有子宫颈的跨性别男性应根据相同的指南进行筛查。 免疫功能低下(HIV+、免疫抑制剂治疗、自身免疫性疾病)的女性应该每年进行一次巴氏试验。

在某些情况下,巴氏试验可用于从阴道获取样本,因为阴道壁内衬与子宫颈阴道药水相同类型的细胞。 在阴道中可以检测到相同的癌前病变。

*这些建议基于 安大略宫颈筛查指南. 其他省份的指导方针可能略有不同。

可能的巴氏试验结果是什么?

在加拿大和美国,巴氏试验的结果分为三类:

  • 正常
  • 异常
  • 不足
正常

如果您的子宫颈抹片检查是正常的,您的结果将显示上皮内皮细胞阴性 病变 or 恶性肿瘤. 需要看到正常细胞才能做出这种诊断。 您的医生将根据当地指南安排下一次常规巴氏试验。

异常

根据病理学家在显微镜下检查您的巴氏试验时看到的情况,有三种可能的异常结果类型。

三类异常分为以下几组:

  • 癌症
  • 癌前病变
  • 初步结果

以下各节更详细地解释了每种类型的异常结果。

癌症

该组包括宫颈癌和子宫内膜癌。 在巴氏涂片中很少看到另一种类型的癌症。

以下结果是癌症的类型:

癌症结果需要立即治疗。 如果您得到癌症结果并且没有及时收到有关后续步骤的信息,请联系您的医生。

癌前病变

癌前疾病是一种未经治疗的疾病,随着时间的推移可能会变成癌症。 巴氏试验旨在发现宫颈的两种癌前疾病。 这两种疾病都是由 人类乳头状瘤病毒 (HPV)。

HSIL 患者患癌症的风险更高。 如果您收到 HSIL 的结果,您的医生将与您讨论可能的治疗方案。 尽管您的医生会与您讨论进行第二次巴氏涂片检查,但 LSIL 患者患癌症的风险较低。

初步结果

初步结果意味着在您的巴氏试验中发现了异常细胞,但这些变化不足以做出最终诊断。 初步结果并不意味着癌症,但一些初步结果提高了您的子宫颈中可能存在癌前疾病或癌症的可能性。

您应该与您的医生讨论上述任何初步异常结果。 在大多数情况下,建议进行额外的检查,例如阴道镜检查或重复的巴氏试验。

不足

在极少数情况下,巴氏试验的结果可能被描述为不充分。 这意味着您的病理学家无法根据接受检查的组织做出诊断。 造成这种情况的常见原因包括细胞数量少、细胞保存不良、血液等元素阻塞以及组织处理错误。

当结果不充分时,通常会进行重复的巴氏试验。

子宫内膜细胞

在您的组织样本中可能会看到来自子宫内膜腔(子宫内膜)内部的细胞。 这个结果在 45 岁以下的女性中被认为是正常的。然而,对于 45 岁以上的女性,这些细胞可能是异常的。

如果您的年龄超过 45 岁并且在您的子宫颈抹片检查中看到子宫内膜细胞,您的医生可能会建议您进行额外的检查。 测试可能包括在称为子宫内膜活检的程序中从子宫内部采集少量组织样本。

A+ A A-

The Pap test - Introduction and results

This article was reviewed and updated on August 5, 2019.

by Adnan Karavelic, MD FRCPC

Summary:

  • The Pap test is a screening test that looks for abnormal cells in the cervix.

  • The purpose of the Pap test is to look for pre-cancerous diseases but cancers may also be identified.

  • Most pre-cancerous diseases and cancers in this area are caused by a virus called human papillomavirus (HPV).

  • You should discuss any abnormal results with you doctor who may recommend additional tests.

This article will provide an introduction to the Pap test and possible test results. Continue reading to learn more.

The normal cervix and uterus

The uterus is a pear-shaped, hollow, female reproductive organ located in the small pelvis. The upper part of the uterus is called the body (uterine corpus), and the lower part is called the neck (uterine cervix). The body is made up of muscles that form a cavity called the endometrium. The endometrium is lined by endometrial glands and stroma.

 

The uterine cervix is found at the top of the vagina. A narrow passage that runs through the cervix and connects the endometrium and the vagina is called the endocervical canal. 

The part of the cervix inside the vagina is covered by special cells called squamous cells. These cells form a barrier called the epithelium that protect the cervix. 

The endocervical canal is covered by a different kind of cell that connect to form endocervical glands

The endometrium is also covered in glands that change throughout the menstrual cycle. The tissue in between the glands is called stroma.  

What is a Pap test?

The Pap test (Pap smear, cervical smear) is a screening test that looks for abnormal cells in the vaginal portion of the uterine cervix. It is called a screening test because it is designed to detect disease before a person experiences any symptoms. The test was named after Dr. Georgios Papanicolaou who invented the test with Dr. Aurel Babes in the early 20th century. 

Why is Pap test performed?

The purpose of the Pap test is to look for pre-cancerous diseases in the cervix. These pre-cancerous diseases can turn into cancer over time, so it is important to find and treat them early. The Pap test can also identify abnormal cells coming from the endocervical canal or endometrium. 

The most common cancer in the cervix is squamous cell carcinoma. This type of cancer develops from a pre-cancerous disease called high grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (HSIL). The Pap test is designed to look for both squamous cell carcinoma and HSIL.

The Pap test can also identify infection causing microorganisms including:

  • Candida species.

  • Trichomonas vaginalis.

  • Actinomyces species.

  • Herpes virus.

  • Cytomegalovirus.

What causes cervical cancer?

Most cancers and pre-cancerous diseases in the cervix are caused by a virus called human papillomavirus (HPV). The virus infects cells on the surface of the cervix which causes them to change over time into cancer cells. The same virus causes cancers and pre-cancerous diseases in other parts of the body including the throat, anal canal, vulva, and penis. 

How is the Pap test performed?

A Pap test is usually performed in a doctor’s office by a family physician, a gynecologist, or a trained nurse. You will be asked to lay down on your back on an examination table with your knees bent. The doctor will use a medical device called a speculum to see your cervix. Small samples of tissue will then be taken from your cervix using a soft brush and a scraping device called a spatula. For most patients the procedure only takes a couple minutes. 

Who should get tested?

Screening with the Pap test should start at the age of 21 for sexually active women. For women that have never been sexually active, the screening should be delayed until they are sexually active. Sexual activity includes intercourse, as well as digital or oral sexual activity involving the genital area with a partner of either sex. If no abnormal cells are detected, the test should be repeated every 3 years. A woman may choose to discontinue screening at age 70 if all her tests over the previous 10 years were negative.

The Pap test is safe and effective even if you are pregnant. Pregnant women should be screened according to the same guidelines as non-pregnant women. Women who have had their uterus removed and transgender men who still have a cervix, should be screened according to the same guidelines. Women who are immunocompromised (HIV+, immunosuppressant therapy, autoimmune disease) should have a Pap test performed every year.

In some situations, the Pap test may be used to obtain a sample from the vagina, since the vaginal walls are lined by the same type of cells as the vaginal potions of the uterine cervix. The same pre-cancerous conditions can be detected in the vagina. 

*These recommendations are based on Ontario Cervical Screening Guidelines. Other provinces may have slightly different guidelines.

What are the possible Pap test results?

In Canada and the United States, the results of a Pap test are divided into three categories:

  • Normal

  • Abnormal

  • Inadequate

 

Normal (negative for intraepithelial lesion or malignancy)

If your pap smear is normal, your result will say negative for intraepithelial lesion or malignancy. Normal cells need to be seen in order to make this diagnosis. Your doctor will schedule the next routine Pap test according to the local guidelines.

 

Abnormal

The abnormal category includes both pre-cancerous and cancerous diseases. It also includes some results that are considered preliminary. This means that your pathologist saw something abnormal after examining your tissue under the microscope but that there were not enough cells to make a final diagnosis.

The following is a list of possible abnormal results:

 

Cancers

  • Squamous cell carcinoma.

  • Adenocarcinoma.

  • Endocervical carcinoma in situ.

  • Other malignant neoplasm.

Why is this important? A cancer result requires immediate treatment. Contact your doctor if you receive a cancer result and do not receive information regarding the next steps in a timely manner.

 

Precancerous diseases

Why is this important? The risk of cancer is higher for patients with HSIL. If you receive a result of HSIL, your doctor will discuss possible treatment options with you. The risk of cancer is lower for patients with LSIL although your doctor will talk with you about performing a second Pap test.

 

Preliminary result (not a final diagnosis)

  • Atypical squamous cells of undetermined significance (ASC-US).

  • Atypical squamous cells, cannot rule out high-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (ASC-H).

  • Atypical endocervical cells, not otherwise specified (NOS).

  • Atypical endometrial cells, not otherwise specified (NOS).

  • Atypical glandular cells, not otherwise specified (NOS).

  • Atypical endocervical cells, favour neoplastic.

  • Atypical glandular cells, favour neoplastic.

 

Why is this important? You should talk with you doctor about any of the above preliminary abnormal results. In most situations, additional tests or a repeat Pap test will be recommended. 

 

Inadequate

In rare situations, the results of a Pap test might be described as inadequate. This means that your pathologist could not reach a diagnosis based on the tissue received for examination. Common reasons for this include small number of cells, poor preservation of cells, obstructing elements such as blood, and tissue processing errors.

 

Why is this important? A repeat Pap test is usually performed when the result is inadequate.

 

Endometrial cells
Cells from inside the endometrial cavity (the endometrium) may be seen in your tissue sample. This result is considered normal in women under the age of 45. However, for women over the age of 45 years, these cells are potentially abnormal.

 

Why is this important? If you are over 45 years of age and endometrial cells are seen on your Pap smear, your doctor may recommend additional tests. The tests may include taking a small sample of tissue from the inside of your uterus in a procedure called an endometrial biopsy. 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Copyright 2017 MyPathologyReport.ca

For more information about this site, contact us at info@mypathologyreport.ca.

Disclaimer: The articles on MyPathologyReport are intended for general informational purposes only and they do not address individual circumstances. The articles on this site are not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment and should not be relied on to make decisions about your health. Never ignore professional medical advice in seeking treatment because of something you have read on the MyPathologyReport site. The articles on MyPathologyReport.ca are intended for use within Canada by residents of Canada only.

Droits d'auteur 2017 MyPathologyReport.ca
Pour plus d'informations sur ce site, contactez-nous à info@mypathologyreport.ca.
Clause de non-responsabilité: Les articles sur MyPathologyReport ne sont destinés qu’à des fins d'information et ne tiennent pas compte des circonstances individuelles. Les articles sur ce site ne remplacent pas les avis médicaux professionnels, diagnostics ou traitements et ne doivent pas être pris en compte pour la prise de décisions concernant votre santé. Ne négligez jamais les conseils d'un professionnel de la santé à cause de quelque chose que vous avez lu sur le site de MyPathologyReport. Les articles sur MyPathologyReport.ca sont destinés à être utilisés au Canada, par les résidents du Canada uniquement.