كيف تقرأ تقرير اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم

ستساعدك هذه المقالة في قراءة وفهم المعلومات الموجودة في تقرير اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم.

بقلم عدنان كارافيليتش ، MD FRCPC ، تم التحديث في 28 ديسمبر 2020

حقائق سريعة:
  • اختبار عنق الرحم هو اختبار فحص يبحث عن خلايا غير طبيعية في عنق الرحم.
  • الغرض من اختبار عنق الرحم هو البحث عن أمراض ما قبل السرطان ولكن يمكن أيضًا تحديد السرطانات.
  • معظم الأمراض السرطانية والسرطانات في هذه المنطقة ناتجة عن فيروس يسمى فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري).
  • يجب عليك مناقشة أي نتائج غير طبيعية مع طبيبك الذي قد يوصي بإجراء اختبارات إضافية.

تشريح وأنسجة عنق الرحم

الرحم عبارة عن عضو تناسلي أنثوي مجوف على شكل كمثرى يقع في الحوض الصغير. يسمى الجزء العلوي من الرحم بالجسم (جسم الرحم) ، ويسمى الجزء السفلي العنق (عنق الرحم). يتكون الجسم من عضلات تشكل تجويفًا يسمى بطانة الرحم. بطانة الرحم مبطنة ببطانة الرحم الغدد و سدى.

تم العثور على عنق الرحم في الجزء العلوي من المهبل. يُطلق على الممر الضيق الذي يمر عبر عنق الرحم ويربط بطانة الرحم والمهبل قناة باطن عنق الرحم. الجزء من عنق الرحم داخل المهبل مغطى بخلايا خاصة تسمى الخلايا الحرشفية. تشكل هذه الخلايا حاجزًا يسمى ظهارة التي تحمي عنق الرحم.

قناة باطن عنق الرحم مغطاة بنوع مختلف من الخلايا التي تتصل بتشكيل باطن عنق الرحم الغدد. يتم تغطية بطانة الرحم أيضًا في الغدد التي تتغير طوال الدورة الشهرية. يسمى النسيج الموجود بين الغدد سدى.

ما هو فحص مسحة عنق الرحم ولماذا يتم إجراؤه؟

اختبار عنق الرحم (مسحة عنق الرحم ، مسحة عنق الرحم) هو اختبار فحص يبحث عن خلايا غير طبيعية في الجزء المهبلي من عنق الرحم. يطلق عليه اختبار الفحص لأنه مصمم لاكتشاف المرض قبل أن يعاني الشخص من أي أعراض. تم تسمية الاختبار على اسم الدكتور جورجيوس بابانيكولاو الذي اخترع الاختبار مع دكتور أوريل بابيز في أوائل القرن العشرين.

الغرض من اختبار عنق الرحم هو البحث عن أمراض ما قبل السرطان في عنق الرحم. يمكن أن تتحول هذه الأمراض السابقة للسرطان إلى سرطان بمرور الوقت ، لذلك من المهم اكتشافها وعلاجها مبكرًا. يمكن أن يحدد اختبار عنق الرحم أيضًا الخلايا غير الطبيعية القادمة من قناة باطن عنق الرحم أو بطانة الرحم.

أكثر أنواع السرطانات شيوعًا في عنق الرحم هي سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية. يتطور هذا النوع من السرطان من مرض ما قبل سرطاني يسمى آفة حرشفية عالية الدرجة داخل الظهارة (HSIL). تم تصميم اختبار Pap للبحث عن كل من سرطان الخلايا الحرشفية و HSIL.

يمكن أن يحدد اختبار عنق الرحم أيضًا العدوى المسببة للكائنات الحية الدقيقة بما في ذلك:

  • أنواع المبيضات.
  • المشعرات المهبلية.
  • أنواع الشعيات.
  • فيروس الهربس.
  • فيروس مضخم للخلايا.

ما الذي يسبب سرطان عنق الرحم؟

معظم السرطانات والأمراض ما قبل السرطانية في عنق الرحم ناتجة عن فيروس يسمى فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري). يصيب الفيروس الخلايا الموجودة على سطح عنق الرحم مما يؤدي إلى تحولها بمرور الوقت إلى خلايا سرطانية. يسبب نفس الفيروس سرطانات وأمراض ما قبل سرطانية في أجزاء أخرى من الجسم بما في ذلك الحلق والقناة الشرجية والفرج والقضيب.

كيف يتم إجراء اختبار عنق الرحم؟

عادةً ما يتم إجراء اختبار عنق الرحم في عيادة الطبيب بواسطة طبيب العائلة أو طبيب أمراض النساء أو ممرضة مُدرَّبة. سيُطلب منك الاستلقاء على ظهرك على طاولة الفحص مع ثني ركبتيك. سيستخدم الطبيب جهازًا طبيًا يسمى المنظار لرؤية عنق الرحم. سيتم بعد ذلك أخذ عينات صغيرة من الأنسجة من عنق الرحم باستخدام فرشاة ناعمة وجهاز كشط يسمى ملعقة. بالنسبة لمعظم المرضى ، تستغرق العملية بضع دقائق فقط.

من الذي يجب أن يخضع للاختبار؟

يجب أن يبدأ الفحص باختبار عنق الرحم في سن 21 للنساء الناشطات جنسياً. بالنسبة للنساء اللواتي لم يكن لهن أي نشاط جنسي من قبل ، يجب تأجيل الفحص حتى يصبحن نشيطات جنسيًا. يشمل النشاط الجنسي الجماع ، بالإضافة إلى النشاط الجنسي الرقمي أو الفموي الذي يشمل المنطقة التناسلية مع شريك من أي من الجنسين. إذا لم يتم الكشف عن خلايا غير طبيعية ، يجب إعادة الاختبار كل 3 سنوات. قد تختار المرأة التوقف عن الفحص في سن 70 إذا كانت جميع اختباراتها على مدى السنوات العشر الماضية سلبية.

اختبار عنق الرحم آمن وفعال حتى لو كنت حاملاً. يجب فحص النساء الحوامل وفقًا للإرشادات نفسها التي تخضع لها النساء غير الحوامل. يجب فحص النساء اللواتي خضعن لعملية استئصال الرحم والرجال المتحولين جنسيًا الذين لا يزال لديهم عنق الرحم وفقًا للإرشادات نفسها. يجب على النساء اللواتي يعانين من نقص المناعة (فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية + ، العلاج المثبط للمناعة ، أمراض المناعة الذاتية) إجراء اختبار عنق الرحم كل عام.

في بعض الحالات ، يمكن استخدام اختبار عنق الرحم للحصول على عينة من المهبل ، حيث أن جدران المهبل مبطنة بنفس نوع الخلايا مثل الجرعات المهبلية لعنق الرحم. يمكن الكشف عن نفس الحالات السابقة للسرطان في المهبل.

* تستند هذه التوصيات إلى إرشادات فحص عنق الرحم في أونتاريو. قد يكون للمقاطعات الأخرى إرشادات مختلفة قليلاً.

ما هي نتائج اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم المحتملة؟

في كندا والولايات المتحدة ، تنقسم نتائج اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم إلى ثلاث فئات:

  • خرسانة عادية
  • غير طبيعي
  • غير كاف
خرسانة عادية

إذا كانت مسحة عنق الرحم طبيعية ، فإن نتيجتك ستقول إنها سلبية للظهارة آفة or خباثة. يجب رؤية الخلايا الطبيعية لإجراء هذا التشخيص. سيحدد طبيبك موعدًا لإجراء اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم الروتيني التالي وفقًا للإرشادات المحلية.

غير طبيعي

هناك ثلاثة أنواع محتملة من النتائج غير الطبيعية اعتمادًا على ما يراه اختصاصي علم الأمراض عندما يفحص اختبار عنق الرحم تحت المجهر.

تنقسم الأنواع الثلاثة للشذوذ إلى المجموعات التالية:

  • السرطان
  • أمراض ما قبل السرطانية
  • نتائج اولية

يتم شرح كل نوع من النتائج غير الطبيعية بمزيد من التفصيل في الأقسام أدناه.

السرطان

تشمل هذه المجموعة كلاً من سرطان عنق الرحم وسرطان بطانة الرحم. نادرًا ما يُلاحظ نوع آخر من السرطان في مسحة عنق الرحم.

النتائج التالية هي أنواع من السرطان:

تتطلب نتيجة السرطان علاجًا فوريًا. اتصل بطبيبك إذا حصلت على نتيجة السرطان ولم تتلق معلومات بخصوص الخطوات التالية في الوقت المناسب.

أمراض ما قبل السرطانية

مرض ما قبل السرطان هو حالة يمكن أن تتحول إلى سرطان بمرور الوقت بدون علاج. تم تصميم اختبار عنق الرحم لاكتشاف مرضين سابقين للسرطان في عنق الرحم. كل من هذه الأمراض ناتجة عن فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري (فيروس الورم الحليمي البشري).

خطر الإصابة بالسرطان أعلى بالنسبة لمرضى HSIL. إذا تلقيت نتيجة HSIL ، فسوف يناقش طبيبك خيارات العلاج الممكنة معك. يكون خطر الإصابة بالسرطان أقل بالنسبة لمرضى LSIL على الرغم من أن طبيبك سيتحدث معك بشأن إجراء اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم الثاني.

النتيجة الأولية

تعني النتيجة الأولية أن خلايا غير طبيعية شوهدت في اختبار عنق الرحم ولكن التغييرات لم تكن كافية لإجراء التشخيص النهائي. لا تعني النتيجة الأولية الإصابة بالسرطان ولكن بعض النتائج الأولية تزيد من احتمالية وجود مرض ما قبل سرطاني أو سرطان في عنق الرحم.

يجب أن تتحدث مع طبيبك عن أي من النتائج الأولية غير الطبيعية المذكورة أعلاه. في معظم الحالات ، يوصى بإجراء اختبارات إضافية مثل التنظير المهبلي أو تكرار اختبار عنق الرحم.

غير كاف

في حالات نادرة ، قد توصف نتائج اختبار مسحة عنق الرحم بأنها غير كافية. هذا يعني أن أخصائي علم الأمراض الخاص بك لم يتمكن من الوصول إلى تشخيص بناءً على الأنسجة التي تم تلقيها للفحص. تشمل الأسباب الشائعة لهذا العدد القليل من الخلايا ، وسوء الحفاظ على الخلايا ، وعرقلة العناصر مثل الدم ، وأخطاء معالجة الأنسجة.

عادة ما يتم إجراء اختبار عنق الرحم المتكرر عندما تكون النتيجة غير كافية.

خلايا بطانة الرحم

يمكن رؤية خلايا من داخل تجويف بطانة الرحم في عينة الأنسجة. تعتبر هذه النتيجة طبيعية عند النساء دون سن 45. ومع ذلك ، بالنسبة للنساء فوق سن 45 عامًا ، من المحتمل أن تكون هذه الخلايا غير طبيعية.

إذا كان عمرك أكثر من 45 عامًا وتم رؤية خلايا بطانة الرحم في مسحة عنق الرحم ، فقد يوصي طبيبك بإجراء اختبارات إضافية. قد تشمل الاختبارات أخذ عينة صغيرة من الأنسجة من داخل الرحم في إجراء يسمى خزعة بطانة الرحم.

A+ A A-

The Pap test - Introduction and results

This article was reviewed and updated on August 5, 2019.

by Adnan Karavelic, MD FRCPC

Summary:

  • The Pap test is a screening test that looks for abnormal cells in the cervix.

  • The purpose of the Pap test is to look for pre-cancerous diseases but cancers may also be identified.

  • Most pre-cancerous diseases and cancers in this area are caused by a virus called human papillomavirus (HPV).

  • You should discuss any abnormal results with you doctor who may recommend additional tests.

This article will provide an introduction to the Pap test and possible test results. Continue reading to learn more.

The normal cervix and uterus

The uterus is a pear-shaped, hollow, female reproductive organ located in the small pelvis. The upper part of the uterus is called the body (uterine corpus), and the lower part is called the neck (uterine cervix). The body is made up of muscles that form a cavity called the endometrium. The endometrium is lined by endometrial glands and stroma.

 

The uterine cervix is found at the top of the vagina. A narrow passage that runs through the cervix and connects the endometrium and the vagina is called the endocervical canal. 

The part of the cervix inside the vagina is covered by special cells called squamous cells. These cells form a barrier called the epithelium that protect the cervix. 

The endocervical canal is covered by a different kind of cell that connect to form endocervical glands

The endometrium is also covered in glands that change throughout the menstrual cycle. The tissue in between the glands is called stroma.  

What is a Pap test?

The Pap test (Pap smear, cervical smear) is a screening test that looks for abnormal cells in the vaginal portion of the uterine cervix. It is called a screening test because it is designed to detect disease before a person experiences any symptoms. The test was named after Dr. Georgios Papanicolaou who invented the test with Dr. Aurel Babes in the early 20th century. 

Why is Pap test performed?

The purpose of the Pap test is to look for pre-cancerous diseases in the cervix. These pre-cancerous diseases can turn into cancer over time, so it is important to find and treat them early. The Pap test can also identify abnormal cells coming from the endocervical canal or endometrium. 

The most common cancer in the cervix is squamous cell carcinoma. This type of cancer develops from a pre-cancerous disease called high grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (HSIL). The Pap test is designed to look for both squamous cell carcinoma and HSIL.

The Pap test can also identify infection causing microorganisms including:

  • Candida species.

  • Trichomonas vaginalis.

  • Actinomyces species.

  • Herpes virus.

  • Cytomegalovirus.

What causes cervical cancer?

Most cancers and pre-cancerous diseases in the cervix are caused by a virus called human papillomavirus (HPV). The virus infects cells on the surface of the cervix which causes them to change over time into cancer cells. The same virus causes cancers and pre-cancerous diseases in other parts of the body including the throat, anal canal, vulva, and penis. 

How is the Pap test performed?

A Pap test is usually performed in a doctor’s office by a family physician, a gynecologist, or a trained nurse. You will be asked to lay down on your back on an examination table with your knees bent. The doctor will use a medical device called a speculum to see your cervix. Small samples of tissue will then be taken from your cervix using a soft brush and a scraping device called a spatula. For most patients the procedure only takes a couple minutes. 

Who should get tested?

Screening with the Pap test should start at the age of 21 for sexually active women. For women that have never been sexually active, the screening should be delayed until they are sexually active. Sexual activity includes intercourse, as well as digital or oral sexual activity involving the genital area with a partner of either sex. If no abnormal cells are detected, the test should be repeated every 3 years. A woman may choose to discontinue screening at age 70 if all her tests over the previous 10 years were negative.

The Pap test is safe and effective even if you are pregnant. Pregnant women should be screened according to the same guidelines as non-pregnant women. Women who have had their uterus removed and transgender men who still have a cervix, should be screened according to the same guidelines. Women who are immunocompromised (HIV+, immunosuppressant therapy, autoimmune disease) should have a Pap test performed every year.

In some situations, the Pap test may be used to obtain a sample from the vagina, since the vaginal walls are lined by the same type of cells as the vaginal potions of the uterine cervix. The same pre-cancerous conditions can be detected in the vagina. 

*These recommendations are based on Ontario Cervical Screening Guidelines. Other provinces may have slightly different guidelines.

What are the possible Pap test results?

In Canada and the United States, the results of a Pap test are divided into three categories:

  • Normal

  • Abnormal

  • Inadequate

 

Normal (negative for intraepithelial lesion or malignancy)

If your pap smear is normal, your result will say negative for intraepithelial lesion or malignancy. Normal cells need to be seen in order to make this diagnosis. Your doctor will schedule the next routine Pap test according to the local guidelines.

 

Abnormal

The abnormal category includes both pre-cancerous and cancerous diseases. It also includes some results that are considered preliminary. This means that your pathologist saw something abnormal after examining your tissue under the microscope but that there were not enough cells to make a final diagnosis.

The following is a list of possible abnormal results:

 

Cancers

  • Squamous cell carcinoma.

  • Adenocarcinoma.

  • Endocervical carcinoma in situ.

  • Other malignant neoplasm.

Why is this important? A cancer result requires immediate treatment. Contact your doctor if you receive a cancer result and do not receive information regarding the next steps in a timely manner.

 

Precancerous diseases

Why is this important? The risk of cancer is higher for patients with HSIL. If you receive a result of HSIL, your doctor will discuss possible treatment options with you. The risk of cancer is lower for patients with LSIL although your doctor will talk with you about performing a second Pap test.

 

Preliminary result (not a final diagnosis)

  • Atypical squamous cells of undetermined significance (ASC-US).

  • Atypical squamous cells, cannot rule out high-grade squamous intraepithelial lesion (ASC-H).

  • Atypical endocervical cells, not otherwise specified (NOS).

  • Atypical endometrial cells, not otherwise specified (NOS).

  • Atypical glandular cells, not otherwise specified (NOS).

  • Atypical endocervical cells, favour neoplastic.

  • Atypical glandular cells, favour neoplastic.

 

Why is this important? You should talk with you doctor about any of the above preliminary abnormal results. In most situations, additional tests or a repeat Pap test will be recommended. 

 

Inadequate

In rare situations, the results of a Pap test might be described as inadequate. This means that your pathologist could not reach a diagnosis based on the tissue received for examination. Common reasons for this include small number of cells, poor preservation of cells, obstructing elements such as blood, and tissue processing errors.

 

Why is this important? A repeat Pap test is usually performed when the result is inadequate.

 

Endometrial cells
Cells from inside the endometrial cavity (the endometrium) may be seen in your tissue sample. This result is considered normal in women under the age of 45. However, for women over the age of 45 years, these cells are potentially abnormal.

 

Why is this important? If you are over 45 years of age and endometrial cells are seen on your Pap smear, your doctor may recommend additional tests. The tests may include taking a small sample of tissue from the inside of your uterus in a procedure called an endometrial biopsy. 

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Copyright 2017 MyPathologyReport.ca

For more information about this site, contact us at info@mypathologyreport.ca.

Disclaimer: The articles on MyPathologyReport are intended for general informational purposes only and they do not address individual circumstances. The articles on this site are not a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment and should not be relied on to make decisions about your health. Never ignore professional medical advice in seeking treatment because of something you have read on the MyPathologyReport site. The articles on MyPathologyReport.ca are intended for use within Canada by residents of Canada only.

Droits d'auteur 2017 MyPathologyReport.ca
Pour plus d'informations sur ce site, contactez-nous à info@mypathologyreport.ca.
Clause de non-responsabilité: Les articles sur MyPathologyReport ne sont destinés qu’à des fins d'information et ne tiennent pas compte des circonstances individuelles. Les articles sur ce site ne remplacent pas les avis médicaux professionnels, diagnostics ou traitements et ne doivent pas être pris en compte pour la prise de décisions concernant votre santé. Ne négligez jamais les conseils d'un professionnel de la santé à cause de quelque chose que vous avez lu sur le site de MyPathologyReport. Les articles sur MyPathologyReport.ca sont destinés à être utilisés au Canada, par les résidents du Canada uniquement.